TECH TOPIC – #1 Internet Safety

We had a guest speaker coming to talk about internet safety in one of the class. When I was in elementary school, it was never a topic addressed officially in class and it was brought up only a few times in middle school during assemblies. I originally thought that internet safety was nothing more than “stranger danger” or “don’t post nudes!” But then, I realized that I was wrong; it is actually so much more than that. It is about how to protect yourself from exposing vulnerable information or unwanted posts/ comments on public wifi servers and social media platforms; it is also about how to avoid potential danger online, like tracers on websites. I hadn’t thought about internet safety in these aspects before this class. I didn’t know that Snapchat is not as confidential as it claims to be; I didn’t know that people can check what you are doing online when you are on the same wifi server; I had realized that sometimes Instagram recommends me things that I have been searching about but never knew that there are actual tracers. As the internet is actually so much more opened than most of us think it is, it is very important to educate younger ones how to handle it, especially when the internet has grown to be a necessity in this generation.

Leave a comment