TECH TOPIC – #2 Micro:bits

I have learned some basic programming/ coding in middle school, but I was never a fan of it. I remember that we were taught to simply type in whatever said in the textbook. It makes me perceive coding as a tedious task; I, as a child, just felt like I had to copy a bunch of words and numbers that make no sense. After seeing what a micro:bit can do, I think that it is brilliant to be introduced in class when teaching about coding. As a teacher, you want the students to learn in a meaningful way, instead of purposelessly finishing the learning tasks. Micro:bits allow students to have fun in creating javascripts as they are very colorful and interactive. It also provides guidelines for basic coding which students can easily follow along and helps teachers who don’t feel confident teaching it. It is great to encourage students to express their creativity with coding skills they learn as there are many possibilities in coding with a micro:bit.

flickr@luipermom-CCBY-NC-SA 2.0.jpg

Photo by Luis Perez is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Leave a comment