TECH TOPIC – #5 Piktochart

I was introduced to Piktochart, an online website where users can create infographics in Grade 12 for Social Studies. We were told to use infographics as a presentation tool for a group project about social injustice (mainly holocaust) in history. The topic that my partner and I were working on was the Nanjing Holocaust. And since then, I have fallen in love with making infographs; it is a great tool for displaying a big amount of information all at once without the lengthy paragraphs. As a visual learner, I love it since it is filled with a lot of colorful illustrations and it is simply visually attractive! With this online-based infographic application, Piktochart is easy to use; there are a large number of templates that users can choose from so it won’t be intimidating to start designing and there is all sort of illustration that you need. There is also a big bunch of examples other people created for users to find inspiration. The website doesn’t only facilitate users making infographs, it allows you to create posters, flyers, reports, and presentations as well. There is a presentation button for each of the format so it is a great presentation tool. However, printing infographs out is a bit complicated because it is hard to fit the normal paper size. I think it is great to introduce students to this infographic application. It is a creative alternative for students who are bored with making powerpoint all the time and for those who are into drawing, designing, and digital arts. It can also act as a mean to spark students to ponder on strategies to attract readers while enriching their art and digital literacies.

Here is the first infograph that I created for my social studies project:

ss-nanjing-mass_5638235.png

After I was familiar with using the website, I kept creating more infographs. This is one that I made for my economics class in Grade 12:

micro-project_11511723.png

This is a printable poster that I made recently for our Literature class (EDCI 302):

indigenous-lite_29153998.png

Leave a comment